Registration of Marriages

-A A +A

Registration of Marriages

In December 2004, Than Hsiang Temple was assigned by the government to be the Pendaftaran Perkahwinan Daerah Barat Daya. Couples staying in the South West District of Penang Island or elsewhere in Penang can thus register their marriages at Than Hsiang Temple besides doing so at the Jabatan Pendaftaran Negara (National Registration) offices in Anson Road and Balik Pulau.

Couples wishing to register their marriage at Than Hsiang Temple may do so on specific Saturdays and Sundays of the month at 2:00pm. This gives working couples a convenient avenue for registering their marriages outside of office hours.

The registration of marriage is conducted by Mr. Tan Peng Huat, the Assistant Registrar of Marriage, in a simple and solemn ceremony. Mr. Tan is a retired engineer and is now the committee member of Than Hsiang Buddhist Welfare Association.

 

Procedures for Marriage Registration

Step 1
Collect the registration form from Jabatan Pendaftaran Negara (JPN)
   ~ Jabatan Pendaftaran Negara Offices are as below:

     - Ibu Pejabat Pulau Pinang
       Tingkat 3, Bangunan Persekutuan, Jln Anson, 10400 Pulau Pinang
       Tel: 04-2265161, 04-2264701, 04-2282150      Fax: 04-2269320

     - Daerah Barat Daya
       Kompleks Balik Pulau, 11000 Balik Pulau, Pulau Pinang.
       Tel: 04-8668410      Fax : 04-8669846

     - UTC Pulau Pinang
       UTC Pulau Pinang, Tingkat 2, Fasa 2B, KOMTAR, 10000 Pulau Pinang

Step 2
Taking oaths at Court or Commissioner for Oaths

Step 3
Submit the registration form to Jabatan Pendaftaran Negara (JPN).

Step 4
Submit the registration form to Than Hsiang Temple
Remark: Either one of the couple MUST with I/C address of Pulau Pinang ; Either one of the couple MUST be a Buddhist.
   ~ Photocopy the following documents & submit to Than Hsiang Temple (Photocopies must be clear) :
     - Original & Photocopies of application from (1 set each)
     - Photocopies of couple’s I/C (2 sets each)
     - Photocopies of couple’s birth certificates (2 sets each)
     - Photocopies of witnesses’ I/C (2 sets each)
     - Photocopies of divorcee’s divorce certificate(2 sets) (if applicable)
     - Photocopies of death certificate of spouse for widow/widower (2 sets) (if applicable)

Step 5
Confirm the Marriage Registration Date with Than Hsiang Temple

Year 2024


January
13/01/2024 (Sat)
14/01/2024 (Sun)
20/01/2024 (Sat)
21/01/2024 (Sun) (full)

February
17/02/2024 (Sat)
18/02/2024 (Sun) (full)
24/02/2024 (Sat)
25/02/2024 (Sun)

March
09/03/2024 (Sat)
10/03/2024 (Sun)
16/03/2024 (Sat)
17/03/2024 (Sun)

April
13/04/2024 (Sat)
14/04/2024 (Sun)
20/04/2024 (Sat)
21/04/2024 (Sun)

May
04/05/2024 (Sat)
05/05/2024 (Sun)
18/05/2024 (Sat)
19/05/2024 (Sun)

June
08/06/2024 (Sat)
09/06/2024 (Sun)
15/06/2024 (Sat)
16/06/2024 (Sun)

Due to unforeseen circumstances, we reserved the right to amend the marriage registration dates as when we deem appropriate.

Step 6
Registration Day
   - The couple and witnesses are required to bring along original I/C. (Photocopies I/C not allowed)
   - The couple and witnesses are required to wear proper attire. ( T-shirt & Slipper not allowed)
   - Rings, bouquet of flowers, photographer are optional.
   - All attendees MUST properly wear face mask at all time.

For further details, kindly contact Mitra Welfare Association Penang 04-6451141.